Sprite animation, part 0.5: blender!

Laziness is what drives progress.  You’d think that with all the technology we have around we would all be enjoying endless holidays.  Nope.

So, in order to save a few hours of difficult pixel-arting, I am spending a few hours learning how to use Blender to make my sprites.  And strangely it’s not going that bad !  I already have a Minecraft creeper that works pretty well, with a cartoony rendering and all.  Could 3D be easier than 2D ?  Maybe…  Probably.  Certainly.

3D creeper by me!

Look at the mini green thing above!  It doesn’t look like it, but it’s full 3D ; only, it’s rendered with an orthographic camera in order to avoid any persperctive. I like the black outline, but I’m looking for something a bit less dark, more alpha-blended. Proof it’s 3D:

My creeper in real 3D.

Before trying Blender, I tried the only 3D-designing software I knew: Minecraft.  Here, have some screenshots:

16x16 sprite build in Minecraft. Voxels are good and bad. They're so hard to animate!

Modeling my sprites in minecraft was cool, but animating then was a pain, that’s why I installed Blender.

And, to end the post, here’s the first sprite sheet I drew by hand in 2D myself:

Sprite sheet I created for Infiniworld.

It’s not bad, but it takes WAY too long to draw.

So… I’m going to have fun with Blender a bit more!

About Niriel

Cynical utopist who likes red wines from Languedoc and playing Minecraft instead of working on his own game.

Posted on 23/11/2011, in Infiniworld and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Ohh so cool! The girli-fication of the sprites is not that trivial btw…

    • You could totally learn Blender, it’s much easier than I thought it would be.

      Modeling something that looks good when rendered in 32×32 isn’t going to be easy though…

  2. Nice creeper. You seem to be having fun between your pulsars, quaternions and now pixel art. OK, pixel art is not as funny when you draw pixel by pixel but Blender is a powerful tool.

  3. Hi, my name is PILLIN Clément, i am a french programmer . I’am trying to make a new game, based on an exentric storyline, knight, robot, alien . I really love your style of pixel art, and i need a graphiste ( sorry but i don’t know this word in english ) if you are interested re-send me a message, and i can show you the progress of the game, with some artworks for my game

    Thanks and have a nice day

    Cl8

    • Hello Clément. I am flattered you like my pixel art. I consider myself terrible at it, and I spent way too many hours (days, actually) working on the little knight that you are seeing in this post. I tried saving some time by using a 3D modeler and make some renders, but this was as tedious as drawing myself.

      My problem is that I have no artistic skill at all. All I have is a good perception of space, lighting, and an understanding of color theory. I know the mathematical theory being a drawing, but I have no gut feeling about it. That means I am painfully slow at producing anything.

      I honestly do not have the skills to do anything decent, nor do I have to time to learn them. I would love to, but I have a PhD thesis to write these days.

      I am a much better programmer than I am an artist. Should you need another programmer, hit me up again!

      Edit: I am very curious about your game! If it’s anywhere online, throw me a link!

  4. Oscar Macdonald

    Hi Niriel
    I love your knight sprite, I googled “16×16 2D sprite sheet free” and yours was my favourite in the whole collection!
    Could I please have your permission to use it for a roguelike game I am building for my programming course? I will attribute you in the game with links to your blog.
    Cheers
    Oscar

  5. Hello Niriel,

    May I please use your knight for a game that I am creating and submitting for a computer game competition. The game will be used for a non-commercial purpose and your work will be recognized as your own. If you could please contact me through email.

    Thank you

    Sincerely,
    Angel

What do you think about it?

