Prelude of the Chambered, a game by Notch.

It took Notch 48 hours to make this fully playable game from scratch. I can’t play it right now because I’m at work, but I’ll beat it tonight!

It’s amazing because yesterday night I re-installed my old Might and Magic 3 to have a feel of old-school 3D. Prelude of the Chambered is more on the Wolfenstein side, but that’s a perfect timing.

Here, have a glimpse of how a real coder (not me) works:

Youtube link: Creating Prelude of the Chambered.

It should be quite possible to render Infiniworld with such a 3D engine.  It’s actually one of my goals for Infiniworld 2 or 3 :].

Edit, later that evening:

I died, I was so close! I got lost on my way back from the temple, the ghost boss running after me while I had only 4 health points left. Now I’m scared.

No save/reload buttons, like in real life :(.

About Niriel

Cynical utopist who likes red wines from Languedoc and playing Minecraft instead of working on his own game.

Posted on 31/08/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I died after 14 minutes of adventure. Those damn green monsters throwing projectiles killed me.

    • Yeah ! I have difficulties dodging because I’m used to keyboard+mouse, not keyboard+keyboard, my fingers get confused. I shot all my bullets at the green guys. They seem to need 6 bullets each, and I think we have just enough to kill them all if we don’t miss.

What do you think about it?

