Step 2: interactivity.

In the previous article I explained how I implemented the event management. Now, our software bricks can talk to each other. Let’s get them to talk ! Well… let’s get them, first.  We need bricks.  The good ones.

Too often I started similar projects, focusing on an aspect such as the procedural landscape generation. It worked ! But I got stuck. I ended up with an ASCII dump of something representing a world, but I couldn’t do anything with it.  There was no game built to explore that world.  This time I want to start making the game interactive in the first place: we need to be able to explore before having something to explore.

I chose pygame for managing the input and the output.  The input being the player’s fingers on a keyboard/mouse/joypad, and output being the screen and loud speakers reaching the player’s eyes and ears.  Because I apply some kind of Model-View-Controller (I always say “some kind” because everyone has his own MVC), I will wrap the input in a Controller, and the output in a View.

We will have a PygameController and a PygameView class.  I don’t want to use anything related to pygame in the Model classes, to make sure that when I decide to use a different rendering engine I only have to rewrite the input and output without touching the game logic at all.  There will probably many other pygame-related views, probably one view per character to be displayed, for example.  These views will be managed by the main PygameView.  It would be wise to group everything pygame-related in one single package so that it can be replaced.  Other views, like a console view for the server, would be kept in another package.

And, finally, we’ll need a game loop.  I’ll go for the simplest game loop ever, but in a near future I shall write a whole entry on the subject.

Let’s get to work ! Very soon, the first screenshot !  I bet you can’t wait :).

About Niriel

Cynical utopist who likes red wines from Languedoc and playing Minecraft instead of working on his own game.

Posted on 09/08/2011, in Infiniworld and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think about it?

