Let’s finish !

Indeed, getting started is the easy part.  What’s really tough is to keep going till it’s finished.  I’m not talking about the blog I’m just starting to set up, gosh no; the blog is just a tool, a gadget, a by-product of the Great And Amazing Project.

Amazing the project is indeed: we are going to build a computer game.  It is going to be wonderful.  Each step of the project will bring so much satisfaction and delights that the end product will be nothing less than orgasmic.  Convinced ?  Let’s get started then.  And let’s finish, at some point.

Legend of Zelda

The Legend of Zelda features a map made of rooms that fit on the screen. The rooms are made of elementary tiles (ground, green cliffs, brown rocks, etc.) allowing a great variety. And it's seen from above, more or less, with that fancy projection used in many japanese RPGs.

The game we are going to build here will be seen from above, like the old Zelda games.  I don’t want to dive into 3D because I’ve never done it before (well YES I did, but before 3D video cards existed.  Remember Doom ?  I did stuff like that a bit).  I want to retrieve some of the feelings I had when I was playing Daggerfall: vast world, lots of exploration and freedom, one main quest with several branches, many quests, dungeons, towns, castles, role playing, inventory/resources management, etc..  And I want it multiplayer so that I can play with my friends.

Map of the world of Daggerfall

Map of the world of Daggerfall, the landscape, the thousands of cities, dungeons, characters and quests were procedurally generated.

But mostly, I want it:

  • procedurally generated
  • according to the players wishes.

Procedural content is the holy grail of game development.  I want to be able to sit in front of my computer, run my game and ask it :

“Please make me a medium-size world with ten dungeons.  I want a lot of islands.  And no orcs, I can’t stand orcs anymore so just no orcs in the game, same for goblins, none at all.  Go easy on the puzzles, and super easy on the fighting because I mainly want to explore and don’t want my ass kicked this time.  And oh yeah, do use this new ‘spider caves’ tileset my friend photoshopped for me, and this Spider Queen monster that I scripted.”

and press the “Let there be light.” button.

Wouldn’t that be grand ?

About Niriel

Cynical utopist who likes red wines from Languedoc and playing Minecraft instead of working on his own game.

Posted on 14/07/2011, in Infiniworld and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

What do you think about it?

